I forgot there was a 1:30 in the morning, but here we are! I haven’t been able to get to sleep tonight because of the pain.

Eight-and-a-half years ago I was diagnosed with Lyme disease. Spending the majority of one’s life outdoors takes a toll in areas where ticks are prevalent. I’ve probably been bitten a thousand times over the years, and one of those little suckers changed my life.

The main symptom is debilitating fatigue. I honestly don’t remember what it’s like to feel rested. This is coupled with mild to severe muscle/ joint aches that occasionally keep me up at night.

The weirdest symptom of all is the cognitive impairment. When I first became infected, I would get lost driving home from work. Nowadays it mostly manifests in brain fog and problems with word recall. Not good when you’re learning two languages for grad school!

What frustrates me the most is how stupidly selective it is. Like, I can remember the names of every background alien in the Star Wars cantina, but I can’t remember what you told me two minutes ago.

It embarrasses me, and I try not to think about how frustrating I must be to live and work with.

Anyway, I made my favorite student laugh today, so I’d say I broke even. Now I’m thinking about that goofy grin and I think I can rest easy til the 7:30 alarm.

But just for good measure, won’t you join me in a quick smile? 🙂

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.” 2 Corinthians 4:16
